Presbymeme the second

Alright, PC(USA) moderator Bruce Reyes-Chow has started a new meme for Presbyterian bloggers. The rules: answer each question in 25 words or less. Chris tagged me, and away we go…

1. What is your favorite faith-based hymn, song or chorus?

This is a tough one for me; I love singing. This might be cheating a bit, but I’m going to say the Sanctus (any version) while celebrating the Lord’s Supper. I love the Reformed theology of the Eucharist; that we’re joining Christ at his table. Singing the Sanctus (“Holy! Holy! Holy! Lord God of power and might! Heaven and earth are full of your glory! Hosanna in the highest! Blessed is He who comes in the name of the Lord! Hosanna in the highest!”) is a profound reminder for me that we’re joining the angels, saints, prophets, apostles and martyrs around the throne. Mind-blowing.

2. What was the context, content and/or topic of the last sermon that truly touched, convicted, inspired, challenged, comfoted and/or otherwise moved you?

I was completely blown away by Ken Bailey’s sermon at New Wilmington Mission Conference this year. Check it out online. (Though you’ll probably have to cue it up in the middle of the worship service recording.) Just to give some context: Dr. Bailey was a missionary for something like 50 years in the Middle East. Sitting behind him during the sermon were career missionaries representing a combined total of more than 1,000 years of mission service.

3. If you could have all Presbyterian read just one of your previous posts, what would it be and why?

I’m going to go with “The Homosexuality Debate: Are We Completely Missing the Point?” The answer to that question is, in my opinion, yes, and you should read the post to find out why.

4. What are three PC(USA)-flavored blogs you read on a regular basis?

Lately, I haven’t been to active in the bloggin realm, since I don’t have my own internet access in the new apartment. I’m going to say Presbymergent, Presbygrow, and even though it’s not technically a blog, I do read the articles posted by Rob Gagnon on his website.

5. If the PC(USA) were a movie, what would it be and why?

I’m going to say A Mighty Wind. The movie’s a mockumentary, in which the characters take themselves entirely too seriously and don’t realize they’re actually being utterly ridiculous and are being laughed at by the audience. We in the PC(USA) are taking ourselves entirely too seriously and He who sits in heaven is probably laughing.

Now comes the part when I’m supposed to tag 5 others. I so don’t know 5 presbyterian bloggers who haven’t already been tagged and will actually post. The only one I can think of is Matt Bell. Matt, have at it.

One thought on “Presbymeme the second

Leave a Reply

