Morning Prayer for the Friday after Ash Wednesday

First, a Few Notes

♰ indicates an invitation to make the sign of the cross

✙ indicates an invitation to make the sign of the cross, followed by bow

☦ indicates an invitation to make the sign of the cross, followed by a prostration

Words that are in italic font are addressed to saints and others who Scripture tells us are in the heavenly throne room with the Triune God, most often Mary (the Theotokos). Our communion with them is real, and addressing them is no worse than pausing one’s prayer to talk to another person. If anything, it’s better. Nevertheless, I know some still have scruples concerning this practice, and so the use of italic font makes passing over these prayers easier for those wanting to do so.

 Let Us Pray…

Remembrance of Baptism

♰ In the Name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit. Amen.

Glory to You, our God. Glory to You.

We Call Upon Our Lord

Arise, Lord: Why are you sleeping? Arise: Do not make our exile final. How can you turn your face from us? How can you forget all our troubles? We are pressed down to the earth itself. Arise, Lord: Help us. Set us free.

Trisagion Prayers

✙ Holy God! Holy Mighty! Holy Immortal! Have mercy on us.

✙ Holy God! Holy Mighty! Holy Immortal! Have mercy on us.

✙ Holy God! Holy Mighty! Holy Immortal! Have mercy on US.

♰ Glory to the Father and to the Son and to the Holy Spirit, now and ever and unto ages of ages. Amen.

O Most Holy Trinity, have mercy on us!
O Lord, cleanse us from our sins!
O Master, pardon our transgressions
O Holy One, visit and heal our infirmities for Your Name’s sake.

Lord, have mercy. Lord, have mercy. Lord, have mercy.

♰ Glory to the Father and to the Son and to the Holy Spirit, now and ever and unto ages of ages. Amen.

Our Father, Who art in heaven, hallowed be Thy Name. Thy Kingdom come. Thy will be done, on earth as it is in heaven. Give us this day our daily bread; and forgive us our sins, as we forgive those who sin against us; and lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from the evil one.

For Thine is the Kingdom and the power and the glory, of the ♰ Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, now and ever and unto ages of ages. Amen.

Lord, have mercy. Lord, have mercy. Lord, have mercy.

Glory to the Father and to the Son and to the Holy Spirit, now and ever and unto ages of ages. Amen.

We are Called to Worship

Return to me, says the LORD of hosts,

And I will return to you.

Hymn – Synesius of Cyrene, 4th cent.

Lord Jesus, think on me

And purge away my sin;

From earthborn passions set me free

And make me pure within.

Lord Jesus, think on me,

By anxious thoughts oppressed;

Let me your loving servant be

And taste your promised rest.

Lord Jesus, think on me,

Nor let me go astray;

Through darkness and perplexity

Point out the heavenly way.

Lord Jesus, think on me,

That, when the flood is past,

I may th’ eternal brightness see

And share your joy at last.

♰ Glory to the Father and to the Son and to the Holy Spirit, both now and ever, and unto the ages of ages. Amen.

Trisagion Prayers

✙ Holy God! Holy Mighty! Holy Immortal! Have mercy on us.

✙ Holy God! Holy Mighty! Holy Immortal! Have mercy on us.

✙ Holy God! Holy Mighty! Holy Immortal! Have mercy on US.

♰ Glory to the Father and to the Son and to the Holy Spirit, now and ever and unto ages of ages. Amen.

O Most Holy Trinity, have mercy on us!
O Lord, cleanse us from our sins!
O Master, pardon our transgressions
O Holy One, visit and heal our infirmities for Your Name’s sake.

Lord, have mercy. Lord, have mercy. Lord, have mercy.

♰ Glory to the Father and to the Son and to the Holy Spirit, now and ever and unto ages of ages. Amen.

Our Father, Who art in heaven, hallowed be Thy Name. Thy Kingdom come. Thy will be done, on earth as it is in heaven. Give us this day our daily bread; and forgive us our sins, as we forgive those who sin against us; and lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from the evil one.

For Thine is the Kingdom and the power and the glory, of the ♰ Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, now and ever and unto ages of ages. Amen.

Remembrance of the Holy and Life-giving Cross

O Lord, save Your people and bless Your inheritance. Grant victory unto

faithful Christians over their enemies, and by the power of Your Cross preserve Your commonwealth.

♰ Glory to the Father and to the Son and to the Holy Spirit.

O You Who was lifted up willingly upon the Cross, bestow Your mercies upon the new community named after You, O Christ God; gladden with Your power all faithful Christians, granting them victory over enemies; may they have as Your help the weapon of peace, the invincible trophy.

Both now and ever, and unto the ages of ages. Amen.

O Awesome intercession that cannot be put to shame, O good one, disdain not our prayer; O all-hymned Theotokos, establish the commonwealth of the Church, save the faithful Christians, and grant unto them victory from heaven, for you did bring forth God, O only blessed one.

Lord have mercy. Lord have mercy. Lord have mercy.

Lord have mercy. Lord have mercy. Lord have mercy.

Lord have mercy. Lord have mercy. Lord have mercy.

♰ Glory to the Father and to the Son and to the Holy Spirit, both now and ever, and unto the ages of ages. Amen.

Look with your loving care, we ask you, Lord, on the fast we have begun. May the discipline we keep with our body be exercised with sincerity of mind, and may we persevere to the end with steadfast devotion. Amen. (From the Missal of Pius V)

Morning Psalm – Psalm 22

My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?
Why are you so far from saving me,
so far from my cries of anguish?
My God, I cry out by day, but you do not answer,
by night, but I find no rest.

Yet you are enthroned as the Holy One;
you are the one Israel praises.
In you our ancestors put their trust;
they trusted and you delivered them.
To you they cried out and were saved;
in you they trusted and were not put to shame.

But I am a worm and not a man,
scorned by everyone, despised by the people.
All who see me mock me;
they hurl insults, shaking their heads.
“He trusts in the Lord,” they say,
“let the Lord rescue him.
Let him deliver him,
since he delights in him.”

Yet you brought me out of the womb;
you made me trust in you, even at my mother’s breast.
From birth I was cast on you;
from my mother’s womb you have been my God.

Do not be far from me,
for trouble is near
and there is no one to help.

Many bulls surround me;
strong bulls of Bashan encircle me.
Roaring lions that tear their prey
open their mouths wide against me.
I am poured out like water,
and all my bones are out of joint.
My heart has turned to wax;
it has melted within me.
My mouth is dried up like a potsherd,
and my tongue sticks to the roof of my mouth;
you lay me in the dust of death.

Dogs surround me,
a pack of villains encircles me;
they pierce my hands and my feet.
All my bones are on display;
people stare and gloat over me.
They divide my clothes among them
and cast lots for my garment.

But you, Lord, do not be far from me.
You are my strength; come quickly to help me.
Deliver me from the sword,
my precious life from the power of the dogs.
Rescue me from the mouth of the lions;
save me from the horns of the wild oxen.

I will declare your name to my people;
in the assembly I will praise you.
You who fear the Lord, praise him!
All you descendants of Jacob, honor him!
Revere him, all you descendants of Israel!
For he has not despised or scorned
the suffering of the afflicted one;
he has not hidden his face from him
but has listened to his cry for help.

From you comes the theme of my praise in the great assembly;
before those who fear you I will fulfill my vows.
The poor will eat and be satisfied;
those who seek the Lord will praise him—
may your hearts live forever!

All the ends of the earth
will remember and turn to the Lord,
and all the families of the nations
will bow down before him,
for dominion belongs to the Lord
and he rules over the nations.

All the rich of the earth will feast and worship;
all who go down to the dust will kneel before him—
those who cannot keep themselves alive.
Posterity will serve him;
future generations will be told about the Lord.
They will proclaim his righteousness,
declaring to a people yet unborn:
He has done it!

♰ Glory to the Father and to the Son and to the Holy Spirit, now and ever and unto ages of ages. Amen.

Lord, have mercy. Lord have mercy. Lord have mercy.

Lord, have mercy. Lord have mercy. Lord have mercy.

Lord, have mercy. Lord have mercy. Lord have mercy.

♰ Glory to the Father, and to the Son, and to the Holy Spirit, both now and ever, and unto the ages of ages. Amen.

Encountering the Risen Christ

God is the Lord and has revealed Himself to us!

Blessed is He who comes in the Name of the Lord!

Give thanks to the Lord, for He is good, and His steadfast love endures forever.

God is the Lord and has revealed Himself to us!

Blessed is He who comes in the Name of the Lord!

All nations surrounded me; in the Name of the Lord, I withstood them.

God is the Lord and has revealed Himself to us!

Blessed is He who comes in the Name of the Lord!

I shall not die, but live, and recount the deeds of the Lord.

God is the Lord and has revealed Himself to us!

Blessed is He who comes in the Name of the Lord!

The stone which the builders rejected has become the chief cornerstone. This is the Lord’s doing and is marvelous in marvel- ous in our eyes.

God is the Lord and has revealed Himself to us!

Blessed is He who comes in the Name of the Lord!

Remembrance of the Day: Friday – the Holy and Life-Giving Cross

O Lord, save Your people,
And bless Your inheritance Grant victories to all Christians Over their adversaries.
And by virtue of Your Cross, Preserve Your habitation.

Having your protection, O immaculate one, and being delivered from afflictions by your prayers, we who are in every way guarded by the Cross of your Son do all magnify thee reverently as is due.

(Additional Psalms May be Read Here)

Short Verse: Friday (From Psalm 99)

Extol the Lord our God; worship at His footstool, for it is holy!

The Lord reigns; let the peoples tremble!

Preparing to Read the Scriptures From the Italian Sacramentary

O God, you know how fragile is our human nature, wounded as it is by sin. Help your people to enter upon the lenten journey strengthened by the power of your word, so that we may be victorious over the seductions of the Evil One and reach the Easter feast in the joy of the Holy Spirit.

Old Testament Reading

Deuteronomy 7:12-16

Epistle Reading

Titus 2:1-15

Gospel Reading

John 1:35-42

Prayer of Penitence: Psalm 51

Have mercy upon me, O God, according to Your lovingkindness; according to the multitude of Your tender mercies, blot out my transgressions.

Wash me thoroughly from my iniquity, and cleanse me from my sin.

For I acknowledge my transgressions, and my sin is ever before me.

Against You, You only, have I sinned, and done this evil in Your sight that You may be found just when You speak, and blameless when You judge.

Behold, I was brought forth in iniquity, and in sin my mother conceived me.

Behold, You desire truth in the inward parts, and in the hidden part You will make me to know wisdom.

Purge me with hyssop, and I shall be clean; wash me, and I shall be whiter than snow.

Make me to hear joy and gladness, that the bones which You have broken may rejoice.

Hide Your face from my sins, and blot out all my iniquities.

Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me.

Do not cast me away from Your presence, and do not take Your Holy Spirit from me.

Restore to me the joy of Your salvation, and uphold me with Your generous Spirit.

Then I will teach transgressors Your ways, and sinners shall be converted to You.

Deliver me from blood-guiltiness, O God, the God of my salvation, and my tongue shall sing aloud of Your righteousness.

O Lord, open my lips, and my mouth shall show forth Your praise.

For You do not desire sacrifice, or else I would give it; You do not delight in burnt offering.

The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit, a broken and a contrite heart –– these, O God, You will not despise,

Do good in Your good pleasure to Zion; build the walls of Jerusalem.

Then You shall be pleased with the sacrifices of righteousness, with burnt offering and

whole burnt offering; then they shall offer bulls on Your altar.

♰ Glory to the Father and to the Son and to the Holy Spirit, now and ever and unto ages of ages. Amen.

Prayer for Our Lenten Disciplines (Missal of Pius V)

Grant us, O Lord, to begin our Christian warfare with holy fasts; that as we are about to do battle with the spirits of evil we may be defended by the aid of self-denial.

(At this point, time may be taken to remember saints of the Church or to read other devotional material.)

Honoring her with hymns, Let us magnify the Theotokos, the Mother of Light:

More honorable than the cherubim And more glorious beyond compare than the seraphim! Without corruption you gave birth to God the Word. True Theotokos, we magnify you!

We Sing with Mary

My soul magnifies the Lord, and my spirit has rejoiced in God my Savior.
For He has regarded the lowly state of His maidservant; for behold, henceforth all generations will call me blessed.

For He who is mighty has done great things for me, and holy is His name. And His mercy is on those who fear Him from generation to generation.

He has shown strength with His arm; he has scattered the proud in the imagination of their hearts.

He has put down the mighty from their thrones, and exalted the lowly. He has filled the hungry with good things, and the rich He has sent away empty.

He has helped His servant Israel, in remembrance of His mercy, as He spoke to our fathers, to Abraham and to his seed forever.

Psalm of Praise: Psalm 148

Praise the Lord.

Praise the Lord from the heavens;
praise him in the heights above.
Praise him, all his angels;
praise him, all his heavenly hosts.
Praise him, sun and moon;
praise him, all you shining stars.
Praise him, you highest heavens
and you waters above the skies.

Let them praise the name of the Lord,
for at his command they were created,
and he established them for ever and ever—
he issued a decree that will never pass away.

Praise the Lord from the earth,
you great sea creatures and all ocean depths,
lightning and hail, snow and clouds,
stormy winds that do his bidding,
you mountains and all hills,
fruit trees and all cedars,
wild animals and all cattle,
small creatures and flying birds,
kings of the earth and all nations,
you princes and all rulers on earth,
young men and women,
old men and children.

Let them praise the name of the Lord,
for his name alone is exalted;
his splendor is above the earth and the heavens.
And he has raised up for his people a horn,
the praise of all his faithful servants,
of Israel, the people close to his heart.

Praise the Lord.

♰ Glory to the Father and to the Son and to the Holy Spirit, now and ever and unto ages of ages. Amen.

Canticle: The Third Song of Isaiah

Arise, shine, for your light has come; and the glory of the Lord has risen upon you,

Though darkness covers the earth and dark night is over the nations.

But upon you the Lord will rise, and the glory of the Lord will appear over you.

Nations shall come to your light; and rulers to the brightness of your dawn.

No longer will violence be heard in your land, nor ruin or destruction within your borders.

You will name your walls Salvation, and all your gates Praise.

No more will the sun be your light by day, nor by night will you need the brightness of the moon,

For the Lord will be your everlasting light, and your God will be your glory.

 

I will give thanks to You every day and praise Your Name forever and ever.

Lord, You have been our refuge from generation to generation!

I said, “Lord, have mercy on me. Heal my Soul, for I have sinned against You!”

Lord, I flee to You. Teach me to do Your will, for You are my God. For with You is the fountain of Life, and In Your light shall we see light. Continue Your lovingkindness to those who know You.

 

Vouchsafe, O Lord, to keep us this day without sin.

Blessed are You, O Lord, the God of our fathers, and praised and glorified is Your Name for ever. Amen.

Let Your mercy be upon us, O Lord, even as we have set our hope on You.

Blessed are You, O Lord; teach me Your statutes.

Blessed are You, O Master; make me to un- derstand Your commandments.

Blessed are You, O Holy One; enlighten me with Your precepts.

Your mercy endures for ever, O Lord! Do not despise the works of Your hands!

To You belongs worship, to You belongs praise, to You belongs glory: to the Fa- ther and to the Son and to the Holy Spirit, now and ever and unto ages of ages. Amen.

Lenten Prayer of St. Ephrem

O Lord and Master of my life,
Keep from me the spirit if indifference
And discouragement,
Lust of power, and idle chatter.

Instead, grant to me, Your servant,
The spirit of wholeness of being,
Humble-mindedness, patience, and love.

O Lord and King,
Grant me the grace to be aware of my sins
And not to judge my brother and sister,
For You are blessed,
Now and ever and forever. Amen.

Dismissal

Confirm, O God, the holy Christian Faith unto ages of ages! Amen.

Glory to You, O Christ, our God and our hope, glory to You!

Glory to the Father and to the Son and to the Holy Spirit, now and ever and unto ages of ages. Amen.

Lord, have mercy! Lord, have mercy! Lord, have mercy!

Look with your loving care, we ask you, Lord, on the fast we have begun. May the discipline we keep with our body be exercised with sincerity of mind, and may we persevere to the end with steadfast devotion. Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

